My Favorite DIY All-Purpose Cleaner

As I grow older (30 this year!) I have been trying to transition our family to a more natural way of living. When I looked at the ingredients in my go-to all-purpose cleaner I was appalled. I couldn’t pronounce half the items in the list and I was using a “green cleaner!” I began to search for DIY recipes to replace my normal cleaner and I found one that I love. Because I went with a do-it-yourself version I know EXACTLY what I am putting on my surfaces and with a very busy toddler at home that eases my mind. Which means if he happens to lick the bathroom counter immediately after I’ve cleaned it? No big deal. 🙂

All-Purpose Cleaner

DIY All-Purpose Cleaner

DIY All-Purpose Cleaner Recipe

2 cups water
1/2 cup white vinegar
1 tsp dish soap
1 tsp baking soda
Essential oil (your favorite fragrance)

Mix all ingredients in an empty spray bottle. I got a 3-pack of empty generic bottles at Home Depot but you could re-use your old all-purpose cleaner bottle after rinsing it out.
When you add the baking soda to the mix it bubbles and foams a bit so don’t put the trigger or lid on right away. There is a lot of pressure built up! I let it ‘settle’ for 5-10 minutes. It normally depends on how distracted I got after making the cleaner.

DIY All-Purpose Cleaner

DIY All-Purpose Cleaner

Here is my final product. I would like to make fancy labels but I am afraid of ink smearing while I’m halfway focused on cleaning, halfway focused on my curious toddler.
I love that I don’t have to run to the store to pick up cleaner if I run out and that I’m spending pennies on the dollar of what I used to without a second thought.

Do you have a favorite DIY all-purpose cleaner recipe?

 

2 thoughts on “My Favorite DIY All-Purpose Cleaner

Leave a Reply

