Homemade Breakfast Freezer Sandwiches 

In an effort to save money and eat better I’ve been trying to do more ‘homemade convenience’ foods. I’m not the best cook and everything I do typically takes longer than it should but because the good of cooking at home is the best for me and my family I will continue to try to learn! Here was my try at homemade Egg McMuffin-type sandwiches.

Homemade Breakfast Freezer Sandwiches

Ingredients:
1 doz Eggs
Milk (optional)
Salt/Pepper (optional)
12 slices Swiss Cheese (or your choice)
12 slices Deli Ham (optional)
1 doz English Muffins
Freezer bags

Pre-heat oven to 350*
Whisk your eggs, milk, salt and pepper (to taste) and put about 1/4 cup into greased muffin pan cups. Cook egg mixture for 14-17 minutes. After baking, remove from pan so they can cool.

Cut each english muffin in half and put egg, cheese, and meat on it.

I cut my egg muffin in half because it was pretty thick. I also subbed out swiss cheese and grated colby/jack cheese for half of my sandwiches.

Place labeled sandwiches in the freezer!

After all of that work I had to have one and although I didn’t take a photo before I ate it, (sorry not sorry) it was delicious! I warmed it in the microwave for about 30 seconds (I would try at 50% power and possibly egg only first so you don’t overlook the egg) and it was perfect.

There were some recipes that didn’t use a scrambled egg mixture and only broke eggs into the muffin tin. The issue some were having was some of the eggs would be overcooked because volume is different with each egg. Thats why I decided to go with a scrambled egg. Also, I was able to control the amount in each muffin cup so they were all cooked to perfection.

Did the recipe work for you? Or do you have any tips that made your recipe better?

One thought on “Homemade Breakfast Freezer Sandwiches 

Leave a Reply

